F3 Asian Championship storms into season three with formidable line-up

Dec 11, 2019
• W Series champion Jamie Chadwick, Pietro Fittipaldi, Nikita Mazepin and Tatiana Calderon among new faces for opening round
• 2019 championship contenders Jack Doohan and Daniel Cao return for second title tilt
• Six teams to contest Malaysian triple-header at Sepang this weekend

Sepang, Malaysia (December 11, 2019) – The F3 Asian Championship certified by FIA continues its rapid ascent as it thunders into its third season this weekend at Malaysia’s Sepang International Circuit with a superb line-up of established junior single seater stars and fledgling talent.

Making their debuts in the championship are 20-year-old Russian FIA Formula 2 driver Nikita Mazepin and Italian FIA Formula 3 Championship regular Alessio Deledda. They are joined on the four-car Hitech Grand Prix entry by reigning F3 Asian Champion Ukyo Sasahara of Japan, entered as a guest driver for the opening round, and 2018 series runner-up and current FIA F3 Championship driver Jake Hughes.

Also entering four cars is Absolute Racing, the Asian-based team fielding series newcomer Devlin DeFrancesco of Canada, another FIA F3 regular, China’s Daniel Cao, third last season, Australian youngster Tommy Smith, and winner of the inaugural W Series and Williams F1 development driver Jamie Chadwick of Great Britain. Chadwick made her series debut last season, contesting the opening three races at Sepang International Circuit.

Australian Red Bull Junior Team driver Jack Doohan, son of five-time MotoGP World Champion Mick, returns to the series he came close to winning last season, this time with Pinnacle Motorsport. The 16-year-old is joined by championship newcomer Pietro Fittipaldi of Brazil, an Audi DTM regular, Haas F1 test driver and grandson of another motorsport legend, two-time F1 world champion Emerson. 

Alfa Romeo Racing F1 Team test driver and FIA F2 driver Tatiana Calderón of Colombia is another F3 Asian Championship newcomer, entered with Seven GP.

BlackArts Racing has a three-car line-up for the new season. Newly-crowned Asian Formula Renault Series Pro champion Joey Alders of The Netherlands is joined on the team by Japan’s Yu Kanamaru, contesting his second F3 Asian Championship season and his first with the team, and Masters class driver Thomas Luedi. Alders may be new to the championship, but gained experience of the Tatuus T-318 during the Asian Winter Series.

Zen Motorsport, meanwhile, enters China’s Yu Kuai, contesting his third F3 Asian Championship season, and reigning Masters champion Paul Wong.

Racing alongside the final round of the 2019 FIA WTCR World Touring Car Cup, season three of the F3 Asian Championship Certified by FIA gets underway at the 5.542km Sepang International Circuit on Friday, December 13, with a 15-minute qualifying session at 14:45 to set the grid for Race 1, followed by qualifying for Race 3 at 16:00. The 30-minute Race 1 begins at 18:00 the same day, with Race 2 at 10:55 on Sunday and Race 3 getting underway at 13:50 (all times GMT+8).

All races will be live streamed via the championship’s Facebook page.
Provisional Entry List – Round 1 (Races 1-3)



latest news